About Us

Home / About Us

Our History

Photograph of Miss Edith Hughes-Jones reproduced with permission of the Herald & Weekly Times Pty Limited.

Miss Edith Hughes-Jones (1905-1976) was a nurse ahead of her time, who in 1938 became matron and owner of Windermere Hospital in Prahran (The photo above is the roofline of the hospital.).

By the early 1970s Miss Hughes-Jones had developed Windermere into a reputable and prosperous private hospital.  This gave her the idea to establish a perpetual charitable foundation and so Windermere Hospital Foundation Limited (now known as Windermere Foundation) was born.  The hospital business and assets were accordingly assigned to the Foundation with a view that income derived from the hospital be used for the purpose of making grants in line with her social objectives.

After the hospital was sold in 1998, the proceeds of the sale were invested, and are today managed by the Governors of Windermere Foundation Limited who strive to continue Miss Edith Hughes- Jones’ legacy.

Objectives and Values

The income and capital of the Foundation are to be used for:

  1. religious, charitable and public education purposes in Victoria;
  2. the purpose or use of any hospital not conducted for profit;
  3. any benevolent institution or public benevolent society in Victoria; and
  4. the relief of persons in necessitous circumstances in Victoria;

as may be determined by the Governors.

The Foundation tends to support research and social programs that may not otherwise attract funding from government and more mainstream funding institutions.

The Foundation also sees itself having a role in providing seed funding which may provide a platform for obtaining subsequent substantial financial support.

Other Information

Occasionally other projects may be sourced by the Governors and financed.
  • Mary Patten Special Grant / Doctoral Scholarship
    Mary Patten Special Grant / Doctoral Scholarship

    Miss Mary Patten served as a Governor of the Foundation from September 1990, until her resignation due to illness in early 2004. She died later that year.

    In recognition of her contribution and years of service to the Foundation, when Grants or Doctoral Scholarships are offered they will be awarded the Doctoral Scholarship title, “Mary Patten Special Grant”.

    The Mary Patten Special Grant will be the Grant/Doctoral Scholarship that stands out from the other successful ones awarded for that year.

    Governors & Secretary

    • Rowan J Kennedy
      Rowan J KennedyChairman

      A  former partner of law firm, Mallesons Stephen Jaques and company director. BCom LLB.

      • John C Catford
        John C Catford

        Specialist Heath Adviser, COVID Pandemic Response, Victorian Government; Professor Emeritus, Deakin University; Consultant Emeritus, Epworth HealthCare; Chair, Academic Board, Cairnmillar Institute; Chair, Editorial Board, Health Promotion International; Director, Eve Learning; MA, MSc, MBBChir, DM, DCH, FRCP, FAFPHM, FIPAA, FAICD.

        • Leanne Raven
          Leanne Raven

          CEO, Crohn’s & Colitis Australia, Chair Port Phillip Specialist School Foundation and Company Director Bayley House. Qualifications in Science, Education, Nursing, Corporate Governance and Data Science RN BAppSc Dip Nursing Education MNS FAICD

          • Barbara E Carter
            Barbara E Carter

            DNE, MNS, STTI, FACN, MAICD.

            • Kristin Michaels
              Kristin Michaels

              CEO, The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA). Qualifications in Arts, Organisational Leadership, Governance and Health Service Management, Strategic Foresight and Organisational and Executive Coaching. A Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and accredited as an International Partnership Broker.

              • Peter Trye
                Peter Trye

                Medical Director for Private Medical. General Practitioner. MBChB DipObs MPH MBA FAFPHM FRACMA FRACGP GAICD

                • Joseph Trapani
                  Joseph Trapani

                  Head, Cancer Immunology Program, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre; Director, Centre for Cancer Immunotherapy, Peter Mac and the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre (VCCC) Alliance.  MBBS, FRACP, PhD, FFSc(RCPA), FAHMS, FAA.

                  • DANIEL J MINIHAN
                    DANIEL J MINIHANSecretary

                    Director at SW Accountants & Advisors Pty Ltd. Masters of Financial Planning, Bachelor of Business, Associate of the ICAA, Associate of the CAANZ and Fellow of FINSIA.